State Assessments

  • STAAR logl State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness (STAAR)

    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in spring 2012, includes annual assessments for

    • reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
    • writing at grades 4 and 7
    • science at grades 5 and 8
    • social studies at grade 8
    • end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, biology and U.S history


    Student Success Initiative (SSI)SSI cap

    Enacted by the 76th Texas Legislature in 1999 and modified by the 81st Texas Legislature in 2009, the Student Success Initiative (SSI) grade advancement requirements apply to students who take the STAAR reading and mathematics tests at grades 5 and 8.  The goal of the SSI is to ensure that all students receive the instruction and support they need to be academically successful in reading and mathematics.  This effort depends greatly on schools, parents, and community members working in partnership to meet individual student needs.

    As specified by these requirements, a student may advance to the next grade level only by passing these tests or by unanimous decision of his or her Grade Placement Committee (GPC) that the student is likely to perform at grade level after additional instruction.


    STAAR Alternate 2STAAR Alternate 2 logo

    TEA has developed the STAAR Alternate 2 assessment to meet the federal requirements mandated under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), a federal education law previously known as No Child Left Behind. TEA designed the STAAR Alternate 2 to assess students in grades 3–8 and high school who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services.    


    Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS)TELPAS logo

    The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language.  This system consists of reading tests and holistically rated assessments of listening, speaking, reading (for K-1 students), and writing for all eligible LEP students enrolled in grades K-12.