State Assessments

  • STAAR logl State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness (STAAR)

    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in spring 2012, includes annual assessments for

    • reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
    • writing at grades 4 and 7
    • science at grades 5 and 8
    • social studies at grade 8
    • end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, biology and U.S history


    Student Success Initiative (SSI)SSI cap

    Enacted by the 76th Texas Legislature in 1999 and modified by the 81st Texas Legislature in 2009, the Student Success Initiative (SSI) grade advancement requirements apply to students who take the STAAR reading and mathematics tests at grades 5 and 8.  The goal of the SSI is to ensure that all students receive the instruction and support they need to be academically successful in reading and mathematics.  This effort depends greatly on schools, parents, and community members working in partnership to meet individual student needs.

    As specified by these requirements, a student may advance to the next grade level only by passing these tests or by unanimous decision of his or her Grade Placement Committee (GPC) that the student is likely to perform at grade level after additional instruction.



    STAAR A, an accommodated version of STAAR, is offered as an online assessment in the same grades and subjects as STAAR. The passing standards for STAAR A are the same as any STAAR test. STAAR A provides embedded supports designed to help students with disabilities access the content being assessed. These embedded supports include visual aids, graphic organizers, clarifications of construct-irrelevant terms, and text-to-speech functionality.

    Students receiving the following services may be administered STAAR A in one or more subjects:

    • Students with identified disabilities who are receiving special education services
    • Students identified with dyslexia or a related disorder (as defined in Texas Education Code §38.003) and are receiving Section 504 services

    If a student falls into one of these categories and receives accommodations in instruction similar to those found in STAAR A, the student must meet the eligibility criteria found in the STAAR A Eligibility Requirements document in order to take STAAR A.



    STAAR L is a linguistically accommodated English version of the STAAR grades 3–8 and end-of-course (EOC) mathematics, science, and social studies assessments. TEA provides the STAAR L for English language learners (ELLs). ELL students must meet participation requirements for a substantial degree of linguistic accommodation in these subject areas. STAAR L is an online testing program. 


    STAAR Alternate 2STAAR Alternate 2 logo

    TEA has developed the STAAR Alternate 2 assessment to meet the federal requirements mandated under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), a federal education law previously known as No Child Left Behind. TEA designed the STAAR Alternate 2 to assess students in grades 3–8 and high school who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services.    


    Texas English language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS)TELPAS logo

    The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language.  This system consists of reading tests and holistically rated assessments of listening, speakin, reading (for K-1 students), and writing for all eligible LEP students enrolled in grades K-12.


    Texas Assessment of Knoweldge and Skills (TAKS)TAKS logo

    The TAKS assessments are designed to measure the extent to which a student has learned and is able to apply the defined knowledge and skills at each tested grade level.